
RESOLUTION NO.  10-003 
 

RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE CSAC EXCESS 
INSURANCE AUTHORITY IN THE MATTER OF DISPOSITION OF PROPERTY 

 
 WHEREAS, the CSAC Excess Insurance Authority (the Authority) is a joint 
exercise of powers agency of which certain counties and public entities of the State of 
California are members; 
 

WHEREAS, the Authority maintains an office for the transaction of business; 
 
 WHEREAS, the Authority has acquired office equipment and furniture for use in 
the daily administrative operations of the Authority at its office; 
 
 WHEREAS, some of the acquired office equipment and furniture may no longer 
be used by Authority staff or may become obsolete or worn out; 
 
 WHEREAS, the Authority may wish to dispose of such surplus or obsolete 
property; 
 
 WHEREAS, the Board of Directors of the CSAC Excess Insurance Authority 
adopted procedures on March 4, 1988 to be followed when disposing of surplus or 
obsolete property; 
 

WHEREAS, the procedures need to be amended to reflect current needs and 
thresholds; 
 
 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF 
THE CSAC EXCESS INSURANCE AUTHORITY AS FOLLOWS: 
 
1. Any supply, material or equipment which has a salvage value estimated at more 
than $1,000 shall require approval of the Executive Committee to be declared surplus.  
If the salvage value of a supply, material or equipment is estimated to be $1,000 or less, 
the chief executive shall have authority to declare the item surplus. 
 
2. The chief executive or his/her designee shall arrange for disposition of items 
declared to be surplus as described below.   
 

A. Items Valued More than $1,000:  If the salvage value of any supply, 
material or equipment which has been declared surplus is $1,000 or more, 
the Authority will offer such items to the members via auction.  Any items 
not sold through the auction will be disposed of according to law or 
donated to charity.  

 
B. Items Valued Less than $1,000:  If the salvage value of any supply, 

material or equipment which has been declared surplus is less than 



$1,000, the Authority will offer such items for sale to the members on a 
first come first serve basis.  Any items not sold will be disposed of 
according to law or donated to charity. 

 
C. Items Valued Less than $50: If the salvage value of any supply, material 

or equipment which has been declared surplus is less than $50, the chief 
executive will dispose of such items according to law or have them 
donated to charity. 

 PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Directors of the CSAC Excess 
 Insurance Authority, this 1st day of October, 2010 by the following vote: 

 AYES:  Counties of Alameda, Butte, Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Glenn, 
Humboldt, Imperial, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mendocino, Merced, Napa, Nevada, 
Orange, Placer, Plumas, Riverside, Sacramento, San Diego, San Joaquin, San Luis 
Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Shasta, Sierra, Sonoma, Stanislaus, 
Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tuolumne, Ventura, Yuba and Thomas Vance, Charlie Mitchell, 
Teri Enos, Larry Moss, Kimberly J. Greer, Deborah Grant and Lynne Margolies 

 NOES:  None 

 ABSENT:  Counties of Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Colusa, Fresno, Lake, Lassen, 
Marin, Mariposa, Modoc, Mono, Monterey, San Benito, Siskiyou, Solano, Tulare and Yolo 

 ABSTAIN:  None 

ATTEST: 
 
 
 
             
Michael Fleming, CEO/Secretary  Lance Sposito, President 
CSAC Excess Insurance Authority  CSAC Excess Insurance Authority 
  


