AB 119 was signed into law by Governor Jerry Brown on June 27, 2017 requiring certain public employers to allow union representation access to employees during new employee orientation.
The law applies to public agencies including cities, counties, special districts, public schools (K-12), community colleges, California State Universities, Universities of California, and school districts.
The public employer must give the union no less than 10 days notice in advance of the orientation but also establishes an exception for urgent hiring need.
The law also requires public employers to provide the union with the name, job title, department, work location, work, home, and personal cellular telephone numbers, personal email addresses on file with the employer, and home address of newly hired employees within 30 days of hire or by the first pay period of the month following hire. It also requires public employers to provide the union with this information for all employees in the bargaining unit at least every 120 days, except as specified by mutual agreement.
The law grants the Public Employment Relations Board (PERB) jurisdiction over a violation of these provisions.
AB 119 adds Section 3555 to 3559 to the California Government Code and amends Sections 6253.2 and 6254.3 of the California Public Records Act.